Stay Healthy, Hawks: Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates.  Students: Please call ahead before coming to campus for face-to-face services. Spring 2021 Updates.

Important COVID-19 Update

Our staff is ready to provide services to you in person, via email, and online. Due to limited staffing, please email our staff,, should you need resources or have any questions.

If you are in need of additional support services or have questions or concerns not related to the Student Conference for Research and Creative Arts, please contact the Dean of Students Office.

Dean of Students Assistance Request Form

For university and health alert updates related to Coronavirus (COVID-19), please visit the UHCL Health Alert webpage.

The 26th Annual Student Conference

Thursday, April 16 – Thursday, April 30, 2020

We are going virtual for this year, so please make sure that you register to attend online. We will then send you the Zoom information for the sessions that you register for. 

The public is welcome to attend any sessions at no cost, volunteer, and evaluate presentations (depending on expertise and availability). However, we do ask that you register in advance.

We appreciate your interest and participation.

Attendee Registration

2020 Conference Program

The conference is an affordable student showcase where students from any college/university present original work (any discipline) in a variety of formats. First-time student presenters, at both undergraduate and graduate levels, are strongly encouraged.

The 25th Annual Student Conference Information

Thank You !

We rely on the steadfast assistance and support from many individuals, departments, and groups in UHCL, including:

Authors and Faculty Sponsors

With over 150 presentations, we applaud the authors, co-authors and their faculty sponsors who participated in oral presentations, roundtables, symposiums and special events. Some presentations were individual efforts, while others included multiple participants:


Evaluators have subject matter expertise. They volunteer their time to provide feedback to students whose presentations are within their area of expertise.

  • Aliya Beavers, M.A.
  • Steven Bistricky, Ph.D.
  • Dennis Casserly, Ph.D.
  • Denise Cazes, M.A.
  • Soma Datta, Ph.D.
  • David Day, J.D., Ph.D.
  • Anton Dubrovskiy, Ph.D.
  • Joanna Eleftheriou, Ph.D.
  • Kathleen Garland, Ph.D.
  • Stephen Gruber, M.S.
  • Hae Rim Jin, Ph.D.
  • Angela Kelling, Ph.D.
  • Anna Klyueva, Ph.D.
  • Stuart Larson, M.F.A.
  • Anne Marcoline, Ph.D.
  • David Malin, Ph.D.
  • Ryan Marek, Ph.D.
  • Susan Prihoda RN, M.S., FNP
  • Wanalee Romero, Ph.D.
  • Bazlur Rashid, Ph.D.
  • Christal Seahorn, Ph.D.
  • Xiaojun Shan, Ph.D.
  • Julia Englund Strait, Ph.D.
  • Christine Walther, Ph.D.
  • Chris Ward, Ph.D.
  • Brian Wasko, Ph.D.

Our Volunteers and Committee Members

Volunteers and committee members set up the Conference and do their best so it runs smoothly through all the complexities, surprises and last minute changes.


  • Olanrewaju Ajayi
  • Randon Anderson
  • Dhwani Desai
  • Kenneth Dickson
  • Jared Jankowski
  • Shobana Jayapalan
  • Lilac Lee
  • Angie Montelongo, M.S.
  • Stephanie Musquiz
  • Brooke Saner

Alumni Association

  • Patrick Cardenas
  • Sue Fellman
  • Randall Garcia
  • Estelle Gillette
  • Michael Reeves
  • Wayne Sallee
  • Marilyn Sims
  • Joyce Delores Taylor
  • Chris Wagner

Student Committee Members

  • Andrea Anderson, M.S., PA-C
  • Anthony Caballero
  • Ivan Cazares
  • Edward Knowles
  • Angeline Liles
  • Dianne Lu
  • Ryan Muller

Faculty Committee Members

  • Pilar Goyarzu, Ph.D.
  • Joyce Delores Taylor, M.A.
  • Stuart Larson, M.F.A.
  • David Malin, Ph.D.
  • Kathleen Garland, Ph.D.
  • Samina Masood, Ph.D.
  • Student Conference for Research and Creative Arts


    Bayou 1632
    2700 Bay Area Blvd, Box 256
    Houston, TX 77058-1002

    Office hours by appointment only.