Environmental Institute of Houston Logo

Since 1991, the mission of the Environmental Institute of Houston at University of Houston-Clear Lake has been to advance understanding of the environment through interdisciplinary research, education, and outreach 

The Environmental Institute Houston provides access to environmental information to the university and the community through activities, seminars and presentations that spotlight topics of vital importance to students, citizens, teachers and technical audiences.

Research and Environmental Education

Our research activities focus on water resources, wetlands, fisheries and wildlife conservation management. Institute scientists apply their diverse skills to examine environmental issues statewide and throughout the Gulf of Mexico. They deliver technical and scientific expertise, providing clarity to diverse environmental questions facing our region.

Educating students and community members about the environment is our primary objective. We provide technical assistance and professional development opportunities for educators, emphasizing environmental and science education by offering educator workshops for public and private schools, higher education, nature centers, parks and other environmental education providers. We invite you to learn more about EIH through our outreach programs that include public presentations, educational displays, lay-language reports and environmental data analysis.

Upcoming Events

  January 2019
 

Tuesday, Jan. 1

Surface Water Quality Monitoring Training - Registration opens Jan. 1. Early bird pricing ends Feb. 8

Tuesday, Jan. 8, 9–11 a.m.

Friday, Jan. 11, 1–4 p.m.

Seed cleaning in the EIH classroom. Contact Rowena McDermid at mcdermid@uhcl.edu for information and to volunteer.

Monday, Jan. 14, 6:30–8:30 p.m.

Native Plant Society of Texas Clear Lake Chapter Meeting - Replanting a Resilient Houston by Jaime González, The Nature Conservancy in Texas

Tuesday, Jan. 15, 9–11 a.m.

Friday, Jan. 18

Seed collecting at Armand Bayou Nature Center. Contact Rowena McDermid at mcdermid@uhcl.edu for details.

Friday, Jan. 18, 1–4 p.m.

Seed cleaning in the EIH classroom. Contact Rowena McDermid at mcdermid@uhcl.edu for information and to volunteer.

Saturday, Jan. 19, 9–10:30 a.m.

Youth Birding Club - Free birding event for kids 7-13 years old

Tuesday, Jan. 22, 9–11 a.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 29, 9–11 a.m.

  February 2019
 

Tuesday, Feb. 5, 9–11 a.m.

Friday, Feb. 8

Surface Water Quality Monitoring Training - Early bird registration ends Feb. 8

Monday, Feb. 11, 6:30–8:30 p.m.

Native Plant Society of Texas Clear Lake Chapter Meeting - How to Work with Your H.O.A. by Julie d’Ablaing

Tuesday, Feb. 12, 9–11 a.m.

Saturday, Feb. 16, 9–10:30 a.m.

Youth Birding Club - Free birding event for kids 7-13 years old

Saturday, Feb. 16, 10 a.m.–3 p.m.

Prescribed Fire Awareness Workshop presented by Environmental Institute of Houston and Texas Parks & Wildlife Department, Wildlife Division. RSVP by 2/11/2019 to Wendy Reistle 281-283-3045 or reistle@uhcl.edu

Tuesday, Feb. 19, 9–11 a.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 26, 9–11 a.m.

  March 2019
 

Tuesday, March 5, 9–11 a.m.

Tuesday, March 12, 9–11 a.m.

Saturday, March 16, 9–10:30 a.m.

Youth Birding Club - Free birding event for kids 7-13 years old

Monday, March 18, 8 a.m.–5 p.m.

Surface Water Quality Monitoring Training - Partial Course: Water Quality & Hydrological Monitoring (Day 1). Registration closes March 4.

March 18–March 21, 8 a.m.–5 p.m.

Surface Water Quality Monitoring Training - Full Course: Partial + Biological & Physical Habitat Monitoring (Days 1-4). Registration closes March 4.

Tuesday, March 19, 9–11 a.m.

Tuesday, March 26, 9–11 a.m.

Contact
  • Environmental Institute of Houston

    Phone: 281-283-3950
    Email: eih@uhcl.edu

    North Office Annex
    2700 Bay Area Blvd, Box 540
    Houston, TX 77058-1002

    UHCLCareer Facebook UHCLCareer Twitter UHCLArtGallery Instagram