Minor in Professional Writing

Skilled Writers Spell Success for Companies and Organizations

A Minor in Professional Writing from the University of Houston-Clear Lake is an excellent way to supplement any major. It displays your proficiency with oral and written communication, skills that are highly coveted by employers across industries.

Refine Your Writing Skills

Your coursework will explore topics such as Grant Writing, Written Communications for Business, Technical Writing, Writing for the Public and the Sociolinguistics of Writing. This 15-credit hour minor will prepare you for a variety of professional occupations.

Apply for a Minor



Degree Requirements

This degree has a specific set of courses you’ll need to complete before you can graduate from University of Houston-Clear Lake. Learn more about the classes that will help you complete the requirements of this degree. 


Minor Plan


Locations

  University of Houston-Clear Lake
 

University of Houston-Clear Lake

2700 Bay Area Blvd
Houston, TX 77058
Phone: 281-283-7600

Learn More


Accreditations and Distinctions

The College of Human Sciences and Humanities holds a number of specialized accreditations, including accreditations and approval from the Commission of Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education; the Association for Behavioral Analysis International; the National Association of School Psychologists. The Council on Social Work Education has also accredited our bachelor’s degree in social work. Our Fitness and Human Performance curriculum has been recognized by the National Strength and Conditioning Association for preparing students to successfully enter into the career field. The Human Factors Certificate and Applied Cognitive Psychology Program are accredited by the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society.


Minor in Professional Writing Faculty

Christina Cedillo
Christina Cedillo

Christina Cedillo

Assistant Professor of Writing,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3483
Email: cedilloc@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.12

Faculty Bio

David Day
David Day

David Day

Senior Lecturer in Writing,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3355
Email: day@uhcl.edu
Office: Student Services Bldg 2109

Faculty Bio

Chloe Diepenbrock
Chloé Diepenbrock

Chloé Diepenbrock

Associate Professor of Writing,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3356
Email: Diepenbrock@uhcl.edu
Office: Student Services Building 2109.04

Faculty Bio

Dragana Djordjevic
Dragana Djordjevic

Dragana Djordjevic

Lecturer ,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3382
Email: djordjevic@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.08

Faculty Bio

Patricia Droz
Patricia Droz

Patricia Droz

Assistant Professor of Writing,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3481
Email: droz@uhcl.edu
Office: A1307

Faculty Bio

Leticia French
Leticia French

Leticia French

Lecturer of Writing,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3462
Email: french@uhcl.edu
Office: Arbor Central 1307.09

Faculty Bio

Deborah Griffin
Deborah Griffin

Deborah Griffin

Lecturer of Writing, Director of Operations,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3431
Email: Griffin@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1529-11

Faculty Bio

Mary Hedengren
Mary Hedengren

Mary Hedengren

Lecturer,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3496
Email: Hedengren@UHCL.edu
Office: Bayou 2121.11

Faculty Bio

Lorie Jacobs
Lorie Jacobs

Lorie Jacobs

Assistant Professor of Writing,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3460
Email: jacobsl@uhcl.edu
Office: SSB 210915

Faculty Bio

Christal Seahorn
Christal Seahorn

Christal R. Seahorn

Assistant Professor of Writing,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3444
Email: seahorn@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.07

Faculty Bio

Hunter Stephenson
Hunter Stephenson

Hunter W. Stephenson

Associate Professor of Writing,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3403
Email: stephenson@uhcl.edu
Office: SSB 2109.06

Faculty Bio